2020 Temple Theater Scholarships

2020 Temple Theater Scholarships

Apr 3 2020

Temple Theaters is pleased to announce the 2020 scholarship awards, generously supported by the department, university, and distinguished alumni. Of particular note, Temple Theaters is able to provide a significant amount of support to theater students owing to the generosity of “Big Bang Theory” actor Kunal Nayyar (TFM ‘06) and his wife Neha Kapur. 

Awarded annually to four students who have shown a dedication to acting, the 2020 Kunal and Neha Nayyar Acting Scholarship recipients are Ashlyn Gray, Ava Weintzweig, Cecelia Jaskel, and Jackson Purdy. This award provides significant scholarship towards the completion of a performance degree. 

Celebrating students who engage in theater studies across disciplines in a series of smaller awards, the 2020 Kunal Nayyar and Neha Kapur Scholarship recipients are Christopher Hart, Brielle Rivera
, Jacob Ropka, Jessica Fisgaer, Joy Lynn Pringle-Bato, and Laurence Christopher

In honor of the Department of Theater's founder and first chairperson for a theater major demonstrating academic achievement, the 2020 Paul E. Randall Memorial Scholarship recipient is Chelsea Middlebrooks. 

Established in 2003 for theatre students who are studying costume design, the 2020 Zelma H. Weisfeld (CLA ‘53) Scholarship Fund Award recipient is Amara Copeland. 

The 2020 Gladys Gordon (EDU '35, '72) Memorial Award for Theater Award, awarded to students who have displayed outstanding theater students, has been awarded to Kerlin Pyun and Kimiko Jackson-Valle


Established in 2003 by Temple President Emeritus Marvin Wachman in honor of his wife, the 2020 Adeline L. Wachman Endowed Scholarship in Theater Fund award has been given to John Rouleau
 and Kaitlyn Howard


Please join Temple Theaters in celebrating this amazing collection of talented, ambitious, and dedicated theater students. It is an honor and a privilege to be able to grant these awards and accolades. We are so proud of you!

Scroll to Top