Michael Kuetemeyer

Associate Professor
134 Annenberg Hall, 2020 N. 13th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19122
Headshot of Michael Kuetemeyer, assistant professor of film

Michael Kuetemeyer is an award-winning media artist. He is a recipient of a Pew Fellowship in the Arts and a 2022-23 NEA Art Works grant. His work has been screened at festivals and museums worldwide, including the Museum of Modern Art, the Flaherty Film Seminar, SIGGRAPH, and ISEA art and technology conferences. Artist Residencies include a Fulbright to India, the ZERO1 American Arts Incubator program in Cambodia, the Asian Arts Initiative’s Social Practice Lab, and the SPACES Artists in Residence program at the Village of Arts & Humanities. He is a founding member and co-director of Termite TV Collective, an artist-run non-profit whose mission is to produce, distribute and facilitate the creation of experimental and activist media.

Michael is a pioneer in the field of socially engaged immersive media, creating innovative and interactive participatory media art projects with communities. A central part of his practice is addressing issues of access, impact, and sustainability. He works with location-based immersive media technologies, including virtual reality and augmented reality, to layer spacetime into resonating interferometry patterns that support community connection and positive change. Projects he has implemented include Time Lens – Pearl Street timelens.org, Walk Philly termite.org/walkphilly, and Places of Power – Penny Candy Store termite.org/power. His current social practice work continues at Villa Africana Colobó Garden in North Philadelphia termite.org/colobo. He has also led youth media workshops at the Reichhold Center for the Arts in the U.S. Virgin Islands, where he will return for a new AR/VR project, Echoes of the Conch Shell, funded by a 2022-23 NEA Art Works grant.

Professor Kuetemeyer is a founding member of the Climate, Sustainability and the Arts group at Temple University and is the FMA faculty representative to the Green Film Schools Alliance.

Scroll to Top